Area Activities

Osceola’s charming downtown is only a short walk.  Enjoy the restaurants, pubs or hang out in the outdoor patio bar, Mini-Lambeau, behind Osceola Lanes and Cascade Bar.  Visit the gift stores, chocolate or antique shops for fun finds. Hike on the local trails in town or WI Interstate Park.  If you need necessities there is also a grocery store, liquor store and dry cleaners close by.

The St. Croix Valley Inn is located on the St. Croix National Scenic Riverway in Osceola, Wisconsin.

Osceola’s quaint town charm comes from its history and rich natural resources. Founded in the mid-1850s, the town stands with buildings from the 1880s.

Osceola 

Restaurant and Pubs:

Cascade Bar and Grill (downtown Osceola)

Dalles House Restaraunt & Lounge (St. Croix Falls) http://www.dalleshouse.com

Lucky Panda (downtown Osceola)

Osceola Lanes & mini Lambeau patio bar (downtown Osceola) https://osceolalanes.com

PY’s Bar and Grill and Patio (downtown Osceola)

The Watershed Cafe (downtown Osceola) http://thewatershedcafe.com

Thiel’s American Pie (1 block at edge of downtown)

Tippy Canoes Sports Pub & Grub (1 mile) https://tippycanoes.com

Art:

Franconia Sculpture Park https://www.franconia.org

Wineries:

Enjoy winery festivals, dinner pairings, tours and shopping

Dancing Dragonfly Winery https://www.dancingdragonflywinery.com/

Deer Lake Winery  https://www.deerlakewinery.com/

Chateau St Croix Winery https://chateaustcroix.com

Rustic Roots Winery https://rusticroots.wine

Wild Mountain Winery www.wildmountainwinery.com

Breweries:

Local brewpubs:

Amery Aleworks http://www.ameryaleworks.com

Oliphant Brewing www.oliphantbrewing.com

Trap Rock Brewing www.traprockbrewing.com

Uncommon Loon Brewing www.uncommonloonbrewing.com

Recreational Activities

Summer

In the summer, avid outdoor enthusiasts can enjoy hiking, biking, boating, river boat tours, kayaking, canoeing and golfing.

We recommend Riverwood Canoe & Kayak Rental in Osceola: https://riverwoodcanoe.com

Every season

In the winter, enjoy alpine skiing, snowboarding and snow-tubing at the two local ski hills.  Several cross-country ski trails are also nearby. 

Trollhaugen Ski and Snowboard (5.4 miles)  http://www.trollhaugen.com/ 

Wild Mountain Ski/Snowboard/Waterpark (15 miles) https://wildmountain.com

Balsam Branch Cross Country Ski and Snowshoe Trail Area http://co.polk.wi.us

Stower Seven Lakes Multi-use trail https://dnr.wisconsin.gov/topic/parks/stower

WI Interstate State Park https://dnr.wisconsin.gov

Year-Round

From the downtown district, walking trails will lead you to Cascade Falls and down to the beautiful St. Croix River.  The stairs to the falls are temporarily closed but you can take the trail head behind the BP Gas Station and climb up the bluff overlooking the St. Croix River valley.  That will take you along Osceola Creek, a Class II trout stream and around to the Cascade Falls.

Recreational opportunities in Osceola include hiking, picnicking, birding, photography, and numerous community parks. There is also a local bowling alley within walking distance.

Active and outdoors: paddle, boat, fish, hike, bike – enjoy the areas wild and scenic beauty https://www.nps.gov/sacn/index.htm

Wisconsin Interstate Park is a beautiful place any time of year.  It has a nice visitor center with local geological history.  Hiking, running, river access, and cross country ski trails are available in the Park.

Wild River Conservancy has several free events throughout the year.  Check out their Event Calendar on their website https://wildriversconservancy.org

St. Croix Scenic Railway

Osceola is the proud home of the Osceola and St. Croix Scenic Railway.  Enjoy a trip back in time as the antique train transports you through the scenic St. Croix River Valley.

Cascade Falls

Cascade Falls- scenic waterfall in downtown Osceola that is lit to mimic the moonlight for extra ambiance and for you to enjoy http://gowaterfalling.com/waterfalls/cascadeosceola.shtml

Trails

Local trails nearby include the Gandy Dancer State Trail, a 98 mile crushed limestone converted railbed and the Ice Age National Scenic Trail, a thousand-mile footpath tracing Ice Age formations across Wisconsin Ice Age National Scenic Trail (U.S. National Park Service) (nps.gov)

Area Hospital and Clinics

The Osceola Medical Center is close (1.4 miles) https://www.myomc.org

Hazelden Treatment Center is nearby (8.5 miles)  https://www.hazeldenbettyford.org

 

More about Osceola: https://www.vil.osceola.wi.us/about

Area Attractions: https://www.vil.osceola.wi.us/areaattractions